Ministers for the Department of Communications and the Arts

Mobile Black Spots Round Two: Roll out schedules released

8 June 2017

Minister for Regional Communications and Deputy Nationals Leader Fiona Nash has welcomed the release of indicative rollout schedules for mobile towers being delivered under Round 2 of the Coalition Government’s $220 million Mobile Black Spot Program.

Telstra, Optus and Vodafone have all now released indicative rollout schedules on their websites. All 266 Round 2 base stations, contracted under agreements signed with the Australian Government through the Coalition’s Mobile Black Spots Program, are expected to be delivered by October 2018.

“Australians can now check online to get an indication of when their new local phone tower from Rounds 1 and 2 of the Coalition’s Mobile Black Spots Program is expected to be up and running,” Minister Nash said.

“I do remind residents, and journalists, that these rollout schedules are meant as an indication and could be subject to some change.

“As a farmer from central NSW, I understand what it’s like not to have mobile coverage, and to stand on one leg on a gate trying to get it.

“The Coalition is delivering 765 mobile phone towers to regional Australia, with more to come. Labor delivered zero towers in six years of government so we’ve got lots of work to do. The telecommunications companies are using all their available resources over the next couple of years delivering the 765 towers we’ve already contracted.

Round 2 will deliver new or greatly improved coverage to 6,300 homes and businesses across 17,700 square kilometres, including 1,900 kilometres along major transport routes. In total, Rounds 1 and 2 will deliver new or improved coverage to 32,000 homes and businesses across 68,000 square kilometres through 765 mobile towers.

Nationwide, Round 2 will deliver new and upgraded base stations to every state and the Northern Territory – NSW (39), Victoria (32), Queensland (76), Western Australia (78), South Australia (20), Tasmania (6) and the Northern Territory (15).

Under Round 2, the Federal Coalition Government committed $60 million leveraging a total investment of $213 million, including funding from state and local governments, mobile network operators (Telstra, Optus and Vodafone) and businesses and community organisations.

A further $60 million has been committed to target specific priority locations which had not received a bid for a tower from a telecommunications company in Rounds 1 and 2, with a competitive process to allocate the funding expected to commence later this year.  

More information about the Program is available at

Media contact: Whil Prendergast 0427 672 815

Back to top