Ministers for the Department of Communications and the Arts

Joint Release with the Hon Paul Fletcher MP: Committee appointed for 2015 Regional Telecommunications Review

5 May 2015

The Regional Telecommunications Independent Review Committee has been appointed today to undertake the 2015 Regional Telecommunications Review.   

The Government recognises that inadequate telecommunications services is a significant issue for many Australians, particularly in regional, rural and remote parts of the country.

There is a legislated requirement for a Regional Telecommunications Review  to be conducted every three years to assess the adequacy of telecommunications services in regional, rural and remote parts of Australia.

Four members have been appointed to the Committee: Ms Deena Shiff (Chair), Ms Su McCluskey, Mr Robin Eckermann and Ms Georgie Somerset.

The Committee has been selected on the basis of significant experience in the telecommunications and IT industry, as well as extensive knowledge of regional Australia.

The legislation requires the Committee to consider whether people in rural, regional and remote areas have equitable access to telecommunications services that are of importance to people in those areas and are currently available in urban areas.

As part of the 2015 Review, the Committee will also consider the infrastructure and services provided by the rollout of the National Broadband Network (NBN) and the Government's $100 million Mobile Black Spot Programme.

The Committee will also canvass community views on future consumer safeguards following the rollout of the NBN.

The Committee will shortly call for public submissions and report to Government on their findings by 23 August 2015.

Further information is available on the Regional Telecommunications Independent Review Committee website at

Date: Tuesday, 5 May 2015

Media contacts:

David Bold, Office of Malcolm Turnbull MP, 0427 784 451

Luke Coleman, Office of Paul Fletcher MP, 0414 728 720

Back to top