Go to top of page

29 new mobile base stations go live

9 March 2018

Minister for Regional Communications, Senator Bridget McKenzie, has welcomed the switch on of 29 new mobile base stations during February, thanks to the Australian Government’s $220 million Mobile Black Spot Program.

“The base stations are delivering new mobile coverage to 29 regional communities and towns in New South Wales, Queensland, South Australia, Tasmania and Victoria,” Minister McKenzie said.

“It’s exciting to watch the pace of the rollout, knowing that the progress we are making each month is delivering real benefits to regional and remote communities across the country.”

“I am passionate about improving telecommunications in regional and remote areas so people have access to the services they need to stay connected.”

“This is why the Mobile Black Spot Program is so important for our regions, it is helping more people to stay in touch with family and friends, access education services remotely and conduct business.”

Rounds 1 and 2 of the program will deliver a total of 765 new base stations to address black spot areas across Australia.

The Government’s commitment includes $60 million for a third round of the program targeting 125 pre-announced priority black spot locations.

The competitive tender process for the Priority Locations Round closed in December 2017. The successful applicants and locations to receive funding are expected to be announced shortly.

For more information about the program visit: www.communications.gov.au/mbsp

Media contact: Kate Woodbridge: 0409 679 924 or Sally-Anne Kahl: 0427 604 564

List of activated sites in February 2018

Location name Carrier State
Niemur Telstra NSW
Barry Telstra NSW
Mumbil Telstra NSW
Yarramalong Telstra NSW
Balala Telstra NSW
Baldersleigh Telstra NSW
Comboyne B Telstra NSW
Windera Telstra QLD
Irvinebank Telstra QLD
Landsborough Highway, between Blackall and Tambo Telstra QLD
Moonie Telstra QLD
Ravensbourne Telstra QLD
Cungena Telstra SA
Sheringa Telstra SA
Bradys Lake Telstra TAS
Bonang Telstra VIC
Buffalo River Telstra VIC
Eganstown Telstra VIC
Butchers Ridge Telstra VIC
Carrajung Lower Telstra VIC
Killingworth Telstra VIC
Omeo Highway Telstra VIC
Wartook Valley Telstra VIC
Wongoondy Tardun Road Telstra WA
Needilup Telstra WA
Bulyee Telstra WA
Kondut Telstra WA
Wogerlin Hill Telstra WA
Yallallie Telstra WA