Go to top of page

2017 Prime Minister's Literary Awards shortlist announced


Senator the Hon Malcolm Turnbull MP
Prime Minister

Senator the Hon Mitch Fifield
Minister for the Arts

Prime Minister Malcolm Turnbull and Minister for the Arts Mitch Fifield have today announced the shortlist for the 2017 Prime Minister’s Literary Awards.

Of over 450 entries submitted, the expert judging panels have selected 30 literary pieces across six categories, covering a breadth of topics including; inspiring true stories, lyrical poetry, visual storytelling and undiscovered journeys.

This year marks the 10-year milestone since the first Prime Minister’s Literary Awards took place in 2008. The Awards celebrate the important contribution Australian writers, poets, illustrators and historians make to our cultural and intellectual landscape, telling engaging stories in distinctive and compelling ways.

This year’s entries once again reflect the high calibre and creativity of Australia’s emerging and award winning authors and illustrators.

Prize money of $100,000 is awarded in each category, with up to $80,000 for each winning entry and $5,000 for each shortlisted entry.

This year’s books were assessed by a new panel of 15 eminent judges, who each bring a wealth of experience to the Awards. The Government would also like to acknowledge the significant role the retiring panel has played over the last three years.

For more information about the judges, authors and books visit www.arts.gov.au/pmla.

Media contacts:  

Prime Minister’s office: Press Office, (02) 6277 7744

Minister for the Arts’ office: Kate Woodbridge, 0409 679 924