Go to top of page

Appointment to Council of the Australian National Maritime Museum

The Australian Government today announced the appointment of Professor Sarah Derrington as a member of the Council of the Australian National Maritime Museum for a period of three years.

The Council is responsible for the performance of the museum and also plays an important role in providing support and guidance on policy issues and the exhibition and preservation of Australian maritime heritage.

Obtaining her PhD in the field of marine insurance law, Professor Derrington is currently Head of School and Dean of Law at TC Beirne School of Law, University of Queensland and has also had a distinguished academic career overseas at the University of Nottingham, University of Nantes and University of Aix-Marseille.

Professor Derrington brings to the role an extensive history of involvement in maritime organisations and currently serves on a range of boards and councils including the Australian Maritime College, Australian Maritime Safety Authority and St Paul's Anglican School. 

She is also Chairperson of the Somerville House School Council's Risk and Finance subcommittee and a member of the Anglican Church of Australia - Brisbane Diocese's Legal and Professional Standards committees.

The Government congratulates Professor Derrington on her appointment.

More information about the Australian National Maritime Museum is available at http://www.anmm.gov.au/.

Media contact: Justine Sywak | 0448 448 487 | Justine.Sywak [at] communications.gov.au