Go to top of page

Appointments to the Board of the Museum of Australian Democracy

The Turnbull Government has appointed Ms Cheryl Cartwright and Professor Anne-Maree Tiernan as part‑time members of the Board of the Museum of Australian Democracy for a period of three years each.

Ms Cartwright has a wealth of experience in politics and governance. She was a Secretary to former Prime Minister, the Hon Malcolm Fraser, when Australia’s parliament was located at Old Parliament House and has worked as a federal political journalist in both Old Parliament House and the current Parliament House. Recently, she was Chief Executive of the Australian Pipelines and Gas Association and is currently a Non-Executive Director on the Civil Aviation Safety Authority Board. Ms Cartwright’s intimate understanding of the workings of the Australian political environment gained from working both inside as a political staffer and outside as a journalist, plus her expertise in media and communications will be particularly beneficial to the Board.

Professor Tiernan is Director at the Policy Innovation Hub at Griffith University and Dean (Engagement) at the Griffith Business School. A political scientist, she worked in federal and state government before turning her career to research, teaching and consultancy. Professor Tiernan has published widely on topics including executive advice, policy capacity, federalism and public sector reform. Her academic insights into Australian politics and her experience and expertise in governance and public policy at all levels of government will be of great benefit to the Board.

The Board determines the objectives, strategies and policies to be followed by the Museum and ensures the proper and efficient performance of its functions.

The Museum of Australian Democracy at Old Parliament House is a living museum of social and political history, located in a nationally listed heritage building. This year, Australia celebrates 90 years since the opening of its first national Parliament House.

For more information about the Museum of Australian Democracy at Old Parliament House visit: www.moadoph.gov.au

Media contact:

Geraldine Mitchell | 0407 280 476 | Geraldine.Mitchell [at] communications.gov.au