Go to top of page

Australia Post Board Appointments

Joint Media Release

The Hon. Mathias Cormann Minister for Finance

The Hon. Mitch Fifield Minister For Communications

The Government has announced the re-appointment of John Stanhope for a second term as Chairman of the Board of Australia Post, and the appointment of Jan West AM and the Hon. Michael Ronaldson as non-executive directors for terms of three years each.

Mr Stanhope has led the Australia Post Board during a period of significant change for the Corporation, including the recent implementation of postal reforms. During his first term as Chairman, Mr Stanhope oversaw efforts to modernise Australia Post to respond to technological change, improve competitiveness and support the future sustainability of mail services in Australia.

Mrs West will bring valuable corporate governance experience to the Australia Post Board. Her expertise in audit and risk management will help support the Board's governance, assurance and risk controls. Mrs West's executive and board experience includes her roles as a director and Audit and Risk Committee Chair of Dairy Australia, the Australian Red Cross Society and Neurosciences Victoria Boards. Previously she was an Audit Partner at Deloitte for 23 years.

Mr Ronaldson brings prior board experience, legal skills and community and government liaison experience to the Board. This includes his previous roles as Minister for Veterans' Affairs and Special Minister of State, non-executive director on the Board of Snowy Hydro Ltd, and Berklee Pty Ltd. Mr Ronaldson was also Partner at Ramsay, Gaunt and Fraser Barristers and Solicitors for 12 years.

Mr Stanhope's second term as Chairman of the Board will commence on expiry of his current term, while Ms West's term will commence in late May 2016. Mr Ronaldson will fill an existing Board vacancy.

The Ministers congratulate Mr Stanhope on his re-appointment as Chairman and Mrs West and Mr Ronaldson on their appointments to the Australia Post Board.

The Ministers also thank Mr Michael D'Ascenzo AO for his valuable and positive contribution to the Board over the past three years. Mr D'Ascenzo's term will conclude later this month.

Media contacts:

Minister Cormann: Karen Wu | 0428 350 139 | Karen.wu [at] finance.gov.au

Minister Fifield: Justine Sywak | 0448 448 487 | Justine.Sywak [at] communications.gov.au