Go to top of page

Chair of National Gallery of Australia Council

The Australian Government today announced the reappointment of Mr Allan Myers AO QC as Chairman of the National Gallery of Australia Council.

During his time as chair, Mr Myers has displayed exemplary leadership and ongoing commitment to the Council and the Gallery. His reappointment for three years follows a successful term serving as chair from 2012. He brings excellent leadership, legal and financial skills to the position.

Mr Myers is a prominent barrister, academic, businessman and philanthropist. In 2007, he was appointed as an Officer of the Order of Australia for his service to the community through support and sponsorship of a range of educational, Indigenous, heritage and arts organisations, and to business and the legal profession. In 2001, he received a Centenary Medal for philanthropy and service to business.

Mr Myers is a Director of the National Gallery of Australia Foundation Board and currently serves on a number of boards including the Ian Potter Cultural Trust, Grattan Institute, Oxford University Law Foundation and the Melbourne University Foundation for the Humanities.

I congratulate Mr Myers on his reappointment.

More information about the National Gallery of Australia is available at www.nga.gov.au.