Go to top of page

Classification Board appointments

The Government has announced the reappointment of the Director of the Classification Board Lesley O'Brien and Deputy Director Margaret Anderson, and the appointment of two new full-time members, Ellenor Nixon and Thomas Mann.

Ms O'Brien's current term as Director was due to expire 30 June 2016 and Ms Anderson's three year term as Deputy Director was due to expire on 24 July 2016. Both have been reappointed for a further 12 months from the end of their current terms to provide continuity and stability in the leadership of the Classification Board.

Following a merit selection process conducted at departmental level, Ms Nixon and Mr Mann have been appointed as new members of the Classification Board for three-year terms and are expected to commence in June 2016.

Ms Nixon from Merriwa, New South Wales is an assistant manager on a mixed farming property. She is actively involved in the community through her work with the local rural fire brigade, landcare events, agricultural shows and charities.

Mr Mann from Footscray, Victoria is an editor for an online music website with teaching qualifications and a background in editing for a variety of business media. He has worked as a volunteer English tutor and with a youth radio station.

The Classification Board is responsible for the classification of films, computer games and some publications under the National Classification Scheme. The Board also classifies some internet content referred by the Australian Communications and Media Authority.

The National Classification Scheme is a cooperative Commonwealth, State and Territory scheme. Members of the Board are chosen to be broadly representative of the Australian community. In making classification decisions, Board members are required to apply the relevant law and guidelines to reflect as objectively as possible on community standards.

Media contact: Justine Sywak | 0448 448 487 | Justine.Sywak [at] communications.gov.au