Go to top of page

Copyright Tribunal appointments

The Turnbull Government has announced the reappointment of Dr Rhonda Smith as a part-time Member of the Copyright Tribunal of Australia and the appointment of two new part-time members.

Dr Smith has served on the Tribunal since 2001 and brings extensive economics and competition law expertise to the role. Dr Smith has been reappointed for a further five years commencing on 12 December 2017.

Two new members have been appointed, Ms Sarah Leslie and Mr Charles Alexander, each for five year terms.

Ms Leslie is an economist with a long career in government economic analysis and policy and will bring valuable economic analytical skills to the Copyright Tribunal’s work. Her appointment commences on 1 March 2018.

Mr Alexander has over 40 years’ experience as a legal practitioner, foremost in copyright law, and has appeared for parties before the Copyright Tribunal and Federal Court in a number of major copyright matters. His appointment commences on 30 November 2017.

The Copyright Tribunal is a specialist Commonwealth tribunal that principally hears disputes relating to the fixing of copyright royalties and remuneration payable under licences to use copyright material.

Non-judicial members provide specialist expertise to assist the Copyright Tribunal in determining copyright royalty and licensing disputes.

For more information about the Tribunal visit www.copyrighttribunal.gov.au

Media contact: Geraldine Mitchell | 0407 280 476 | Geraldine.Mitchell [at] communications.gov.au