Go to top of page

Creative Partnerships Australia Board appointments

The Morrison Government has reappointed Ms Samantha Meers AO and Ms Rosheen Garnon and appointed Mr Leonard Vary to the Creative Partnerships Australia Board for three-year terms.

Ms Meers has extensive experience in philanthropy and arts leadership having played a vital role in shaping the Board’s strategic vision as Deputy Chair since 2013. She is also currently Chair of Belvoir St Theatre, the Documentary Australia Foundation and the Brett Whiteley Foundation, and a trustee of the Arts Gallery of NSW, and was made an Officer of the Order of Australia for her philanthropic work in the arts community in 2018. Her expert knowledge will continue to be a valuable asset to the Board.

Ms Garnon has been a Director of the Board since 2013 and is Chair of its Audit and Risk Committee. She is currently on the Australia Council’s Major Performing Arts Panel and is a member of the Australian Government’s Board of Taxation. Her expertise in taxation, business and finance will continue to assist the Board in strengthening its processes and financial reporting.

Mr Vary is the Chief Executive Officer of The Myer Foundation and Sidney Myer Fund which provide philanthropic support for the arts in Australia. He was previously a Director of the Malthouse Theatre Board, Vice President of the Melbourne International Arts Festival Board and Executive Director of Fox Group Holdings. Mr Vary’s leadership and governance experience will help Creative Partnerships to broaden its stakeholder engagement.

Creative Partnerships Australia Chair Mrs Catherine Walter welcomed the re-appointment of Ms Meers AO and Ms Garnon and the appointment of Mr Vary. Creative Partnerships Australia is a Commonwealth company established to encourage and facilitate philanthropy, sponsorship and social investment in the arts in Australia.

For more information visit: www.creativepartnershipsaustralia.org.au

Media contacts:

Geraldine Mitchell | 0407 280 476 | Geraldine.Mitchell [at] communications.gov.au
Guy Creighton | 0438 815 302 | Guy.Creighton [at] communications.gov.au