Go to top of page

Creative Partnerships Australia Board Re-appointments

The Government has announced six re-appointments to the Creative Partnerships Australia Board.

Ms Samantha Meers, Ms Rosheen Garnon, Professor Susan Street AO and Ms Brett Torossi have each been re-appointed for a further three years and Mr Rupert Myer AO and Mr Michael Smith have been re-appointed for a further two years.

Ms Meers, who has been Deputy Chair of the Board since 2013, has played an integral role in shaping Creative Partnerships' strategic direction. She is the co-founder and Executive Director of the Nelson Meers Foundation, which is dedicated to arts philanthropy and was the first private ancillary fund (formerly 'prescribed private fund') to commence operation in Australia. Ms Meers also has significant experience on corporate and not-for-profit boards and in senior management and legal roles in the media sector. 

Ms Garnon brings extensive experience in taxation, business, finance and the not-for-profit sector to the Board.  As a senior partner at KPMG, Ms Garnon has contributed strongly to Creative Partnerships Australia's governance during a period of substantial change and growth, including in her role as Chair of the Audit and Risk Sub-Committee. 

Professor Street brings valuable insights to the Board in relation to cultural leadership within the arts and university sectors. She is Executive Director of the Queensland University of Technology Precincts and Chair of the Queensland Art Gallery/Gallery of Modern Art.  Professor Street was appointed an Officer of the Order of Australia in 2014 for distinguished service to the performing arts.

Ms Torossi's experience in the tourism, commercial and cultural sectors has been an asset to the Board in its oversight of Creative Partnerships strategic direction and corporate plan. Ms Torossi will continue to bring a demonstrated commitment to the development of Australian arts, including in regional areas.

Mr Myer is a leader in Australian arts philanthropy who brings extensive experience as a director of public and private companies and cultural Institutions. He was appointed an Officer of the Order of Australia

in 2015 for distinguished service to the visual and performing arts, to the promotion of philanthropy, and to the community. Mr Myer is also the Chair of the Australia Council and a Director of the Myer Foundation, which in conjunction with the Sidney Myer Fund is a key philanthropic supporter of Australia's arts sector.

Mr Smith brings substantial commercial expertise in business administration and strategic marketing to the Board. He is Chair of several prominent private sector boards and has served on the boards of many arts and philanthropic organisations including Giving West, which has helped to facilitate an active culture of giving in Western Australia.

Creative Partnerships Australia works to create a culture of private sector support for the arts through giving, investment, partnership and volunteering.  It brings donors businesses, artists and arts organisations together to foster a more sustainable and vibrant Australian arts sector. More information is available at www.creativepartnershipsaustralia.org.au.

Media contact: Justine Sywak | 0448 448 487 | Justine.Sywak [at] communications.gov.au