Go to top of page

Entries open for Prime Minister's Literary Awards

Joint media release

The Hon Malcolm Turnbull MP, Prime Minister
The Hon Mitch Fifield, Minister For Communications, Minister for the Arts

Entries are now open for the 2017 Prime Minister’s Literary Awards which celebrate great Australian literature.

The Turnbull Government is proud to support the literary arts and these awards recognise outstanding contemporary Australian literature and history. Our authors, poets, illustrators and historians foster our culture and help to form our national identity.

The Awards acknowledge writing talent across six categories: fiction, poetry, non-fiction, Australian history, young adult fiction and children’s fiction. The Australian history category is open to a range of media including journals, magazines, film, radio and online content

Expert judges will assess the entries and make recommendations to the Prime Minister. The winner of each category will be awarded $80,000 in prize money and shortlisted authors will receive $5,000 in prize money.

Australian authors, publishers and producers are invited to enter the Awards which will close on Friday 2 June.

Entries must have been published, produced or broadcast between 1 January 2016 and 31 December 2016.Entry forms and eligibility guidelines are available at: www.arts.gov.au/pm-literary-awards

Media contacts:
Prime Minister's Office:Press Office | (02) 6277 7744
Minister Fifield's Office:Geraldine Mitchell | 0407 280 476