Go to top of page

National Portrait Gallery reappointments

The Morrison Government has announced the reappointment of four members to the National Portrait Gallery of Australia Board for three year terms.

The reappointment of Deputy Chair Mr Sid Myer AM and members Mr Alan Dodge AM, Mr Patrick Corrigan AM and Mrs Penny Fowler, will ensure the Board maintains a depth of knowledge across corporate governance, philanthropy, marketing, curation and management. Each brings a unique skill set to ensure the Gallery continues to be world class.

Mr Myer has a long and well-recognised history of social and community philanthropy and is also the Chairman of the Gallery's Foundation. His leadership and financial expertise are invaluable to the Board.

Mr Corrigan also brings important financial, business and governance skills to the Board, as a businessman and renowned collector who has been recognised for his service to the visual arts, particularly as a philanthropist. Mr Dodge has valuable curatorial expertise gained throughout his extensive career in visual arts that has included senior roles at the National Gallery of Australia and the Art Gallery of Western Australia.

Mrs Fowler is Chair of the Herald and Weekly Times and has a strong commitment to arts and culture. She is also a Director of the Australian Ballet Board and is Deputy Chair of the Royal Botanic Gardens Victoria Board. This year the Gallery celebrates 20 years since it was established to showcase Australian achievement through the stories of outstanding individuals and now has more than 2,600 portraits in its collection.

For more information about the Gallery visit: www.portrait.gov.au

Media contacts:

Guy Creighton | 0438 815 302 | Guy.Creighton [at] communications.gov.au