Go to top of page

New chair appointed to the Australian Communications and Media Authority

The Turnbull Government has appointed Ms Nerida O'Loughlin as a full-time member and Chair of the Australian Communications and Media Authority (ACMA) for a five-year term.

Ms O'Loughlin brings to the role extensive policy and regulatory experience within the communications and media sector with a strong record of leading change management, most recently as Interim CEO of the Digital Transformation Agency.

Ms O'Loughlin's strong skills and experience will enable her to effectively lead the ACMA to ensure it can respond effectively to the challenges of the future communications environment.

The Government thanks Richard Bean, who has been Deputy Chair since 2010 and has served as Acting Chair since February 2016. He has successfully led the ACMA through a sustained period of change. The Government wishes Richard the very best in his future endeavours.

The Minister also thanks James Cameron who has agreed to continue to act as Deputy Chair, pending permanent filling of that position.

The ACMA is the national telecommunications, broadcasting, radiocommunications and online content regulator. For more information about the ACMA visit: www.acma.gov.au.