Go to top of page

New Chair appointed to the National Library of Australia

The Turnbull Government has appointed the Hon Dr Brett Mason as the new Chair of the Council of the National Library of Australia for a three year term, commencing on 9 August 2018.

Dr Mason has more than 25 years’ experience as a diplomat, member of Parliament and academic. He is currently the Australian Ambassador to the Kingdom of the Netherlands, Permanent Representative to the Organisation for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons and diplomatic representative to the International Court of Justice.

He was Senator for Queensland from 1999 to 2015 during which time he served as Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister for Foreign Affairs as well as Shadow Minister for Universities and Research. He will shortly take up position as an Adjunct Professor in the Faculty of Law at the Queensland University of Technology and has served as a member of the Council of the Australian National University.

Dr Mason’s extensive knowledge of international relations, education and governance will assist in building relationships with Australia’s research sector and the international community.

The Government thanks the outgoing Council Chair, Mr Ryan Stokes, for his significant contribution to the National Library since 2012. During his six year term the Library experienced significant growth and development, particularly in digital innovation. Mr Stokes will take up his new position as Chair of the National Gallery of Australia on 9 July 2018.

The National Library ensures all Australians can access, enjoy and learn from the national collection. The Council is responsible for the Library’s strategic direction and management.

For more information about the Library visit: www.nla.gov.au