Go to top of page

New Chair of the National Gallery of Australia

The Turnbull Government has appointed Mr Ryan Stokes as Chair of the Council of the National Gallery of Australia (NGA) for a three year term, commencing on 9 July.

Mr Stokes is highly experienced in the media, finance and management sectors. He is currently the Chief Executive Officer and Managing Director of Seven Group Holdings and CEO of Australian Capital Equity Pty Ltd. He is a Director on the WesTrac, Beach Energy and Seven West Media boards.

Mr Stokes has strong links to Australia's arts and cultural sector. He has been the Chair of the Council of the National Library of Australia since 2012, with his term coming to an end on 8 July 2018. I would like to acknowledge his service in that role which oversaw significant growth and development at the National Library, particularly as a digital innovation leader in the collections sector.

Mr Stokes' extensive business and governance expertise and leadership skills will be a great asset to the NGA Council. His appointment coincides with the commencement of the new NGA Director, Mr Nick Mitzevich, who will commence on 1 July 2018.

The Government would also like to acknowledge outgoing Council Chair Mr Allan Myers AC QC for his contribution to the NGA since 2012. His leadership and expert guidance has supported the NGA to increase audience access and engagement with the national collection and nurtured private benefaction.

The NGA is responsible for the development, maintenance and display of Australia's national art collection. The Council is responsible for the management and strategic direction of the NGA.

For more information about the NGA visit: www.nga.gov.au.