Go to top of page

New Director for NBN Co Limited

Joint media release

Minister for Communications
Senator the Hon Mitch Fifield

Minister for Finance 
Senator the Hon Mathias Cormann

The Australian Government has appointed Michael Malone as a director to the Board of NBN Co Limited (nbn) for a term of three years.

Mr Malone was founder and CEO of iiNet from1993-2014 and in addition to his well-documented entrepreneurial know-how, brings strong strategic acumen, business development and management experience to the Board.

Further to his extensive experience in the retail service provider and telecommunications sector, Mr Malone is currently a director of a number of telecommunications and media companies. He has also been on advisory councils for the Australian and Western Australian Governments, providing counsel on consumer protection and education. 

The Ministers congratulate Mr Malone on his appointment and look forward to his involvement with the nbn Board, as it guides the rollout of the National Broadband Network to every Australian home and business by 2020.

Mr Malone's appointment to the Board commenced on 20 April 2016.

The Ministers would also like to thank outgoing Board member Simon Hackett for his valued contribution to the nbn Board since 2013.

Media contacts:
Minister Cormann: Karen Wu | 0428 350 139 | Karen.wu [at] finance.gov.au
Minister Fifield: Justine Sywak | 0448 448 487 | Justine.sywak [at] communications.gov.au