Go to top of page

New reviews of online safety for Australians

The Turnbull Government has today announced two independent reviews of Australia’s online safety legislation to ensure it remains effective and relevant in protecting all Australian’s online.

The Government has appointed Ms Lynelle Briggs AO to conduct a review of the Enhancing Online Safety Act 2015 (the Online Safety Act), which sets out the powers, functions and governance arrangements for the Office of the eSafety Commissioner.

Ms Briggs will examine whether the provisions in the Online Safety Act remain fit-for-purpose.

Ms Briggs will, at the same time, review Schedules 5 and 7 of the Broadcasting Services Act 1992 (BSA) which regulates the internet and content services industries in relation to prohibited content. The review will look at the type of content covered and best practice approaches for regulating online content.

Minister for Communications, Senator the Hon Mitch Fifield, said it is timely to review this legislation as more and more Australians use online services every day.

“The reviews will ensure we continue to have the right controls and support systems in place to protect Australians against harmful online content and ensure people can confidently participate in the online environment.”

“We are focused on ensuring we have the right measures in place to address illegal or offensive content, and that the Office of the eSafety Commissioner has the appropriate powers to help Australians if and when they need it.”

Since its launch in 2015, the Office of the eSafety Commissioner has developed a range of resources and initiatives to help all Australians navigate safely online. This includes a portal to report image based abuse, a complaints scheme to remove harmful cyberbullying material and access

to immediate and tangible support. Ms Briggs is expected to report to Government in the second half of 2018.

For more information on the review and how to have your say visit: www.communications.gov.au/enhancing-online-safety-act-online-content-scheme

Media contacts:
Geraldine Mitchell | 0407 280 476 | Geraldine.Mitchell [at] communications.gov.au
Guy Creighton | 0438 815 302 | Guy.Creighton [at] communications.gov.au