Go to top of page

Prime Minister's Literary Awards

Joint Media Release

The Hon Scott Morrison MP
Prime Minister

Senator The Hon Mitch Fifield MP
Minister for Communications and the Arts

Prime Minister Scott Morrison and Minister for the Arts Mitch Fifield today announced the winners of the 2018 Prime Minister's Literary Awards at a ceremony at Parliament House.

Winners across the six categories received one of the most prestigious literary awards in the country, sharing in $600,000 in prize money.

Prime Minister Scott Morrison said the Government was proud to support Australia's outstanding authors through the Awards, now in their 11th year.

“Australian authors and poets tap into our country's rich experiences and creativity. The winning books reflect our diversity as a nation,” the Prime Minister said.

“I congratulate all the winners and those shortlisted for this year's Awards.”

Minister Fifield said the Awards were one of the ways the Government is working to grow and strengthen Australia's vibrant literary sector.

“Australian literature helps us to understand who we are as a nation and our place in the world. With more than 500 entries this year capturing a broad range of themes, the judges had the difficult task of shortlisting just 30 titles.”

The 2018 Prime Minister';s Literary Awards winners are:

For more information about the winning authors visit: www.arts.gov.au/pmla

Media contacts:
Prime Minister's Press Office: (02) 6277 7700
Minister Fifield's office: Geraldine Mitchell, 0407 280 476